Colucci, Carvallo win Pucon 70.3

Reinaldo Colucci of Brazil and Valentina Carvallo of Chile won the elite titles at Ironman 70.3 Pucon today in Chile.

The men

Colucci, the 2010 Pucon champion and a 2012 London Olympian, finished in 4:04:12 and outsprinted Argentina-born Italian Daniel Fontana, the 2005 and 2011 Pucon champion, by 3 seconds. Chile’s Felipe Van de Wyngard took the final spot on the podium in a time of 4:08:43.

Colucci started the run with a 3-minute lead and his 3rd-fastest 1:21:07 split held on by a thread to Fontana’s race-best 1:17:30 charge on the 13.1-mile run. Felipe Van de Wyngard's 3rd-best 26:46 swim and 4th-fastest 2:16:03 bike split provided him enough cushion so that his 4th-fastest 1:22:00 run held off by 2:56 the 2nd-fastest 1:18:49 run of Marcel Zamora , who took 4th in 4:11:39.

The women

Carvallo, last year’s Pucon runner-up and 2012 Ironman 70.3 Brazil champion, won the elite women’s category in a time of 4:39:43. Sarah Piampiano of the United States, the 2012 Ironman 70.3 New Orleans champion, took second, with Federica Frontini of Uruguay third.

Carvallo led wire to wire with a race-best swim (30:44) bike split (2:28:49) and run (1:36:00) which brought her to the line with a 13 minute 53 seconds margin of victory over runner-up Piampiano and 46 minutes and 19 seconds over 3rd-place Frontini.

“There are no words to describe this,” Carvallo told Portal Elite Sports of Chile. “I am deeply touched and pleased. I suffered a lot, but this is what I like to do and I am proud of the work I have done with my technical staff. Earning a win at Pucón means more than a medal – it is putting the name of Chile in the headline of this global competition,” Of course, Carvallo means Chilean women triathletes – as the retired world famous Chilean male triathlete Cristian Bustos won at Pucon and many other international races in the 1990s.

Agrosuper Ironman 70.3 Pucon
Pucon, Chile
January 13, 2013
S 1.2 mi. / B 56 mi. / R 13.1 mi.


Elite Men

1. Reinaldo Colucci (BRA) 4:04:12
2. Daniel Fontana (ITA) 4:04:15
3. Felipe Van de Wyngard (CHI) 4:08:43
4. Marcel Zamora (ESP) 4:11:39
5. Santiago Ascenco (BRA) 4:14:20
6. Mario de Elias (ARG) 4:14:45
7. Luke McKenzie (AUS) 4:15:30
8. Guilherme Manocchio (BRA) 4:16:24
9. Lucas Cocha (ARG) 4:17:36
10. Ben Hoffman (USA) 4:18:10

Elite Women

1. Valentina Carvallo (CHI) 4:39:43
2. Sarah Piampiano (USA) 4:53:36
3. Federica Frontini (URU) 5:26:02
4. Amanda Balding (AUS) 6:07:03