Skip to Content


The Pro Triathlete Twitter 55

Written by: Herbert Krabel
Date: Wed Apr 03 2013

We perused the various Pro triathlete Twitter accounts and compiled a list of 55 male and female followed Pro athletes to give you a chance to follow some of them. We organized them by follower numbers to reach some finite numbers. Some of these names fairly high up may come as a surprise, but most of them make a lot of sense. Many folks high up are fairly heavy twitter users, but attracting followers is not just based on quantity and quality of tweets. Fame is not only a bitch, but it also helps to get followers. This is of course is a snapshot in time, and these numbers constantly change. Now where would you rank among the Pros?


Top 55 Pro males on Twitter

Chris McCormack (AUS) @MaccaNow 134,944
Alistair Brownlee (GBR) @AliBrownleeTri 75,353
Jonathan Brownlee (GBR) @jonny_brownlee 54,547
Javier Gomez (ESP) @Jgomeznoya 51,775
Craig Alexander (AUS) @CrowieAlexander 35,767
Chris Lieto (USA) @chrislieto 30,538
Simon Whitfield (CAN) @simonwhitfield 26,902
Paul Amey (GBR) @paulamey 17,366
Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) @terenzo1 16,181
Eneko Llanos (ESP) @enekollanos 15,799

Pete Jacobs (AUS) @petejjacobs 15,653
Paul Ambrose (AUS) @AmbroseLive 14,937
Matty Reed (USA) @boomboomreed 14,370
Andy Potts (USA @Andy_Potts 14,266
Matthew Russell (USA) @mattrusselltri 13,509
Jan Frodeno (GER) @janfrodeno 12,233
Greg Bennett (USA) @GregBennett1 12,012
Jordan Rapp (USA) @rappstar 11,767
Timothy O’Donnell @ToinTri 11,158
Luke McKenzie (AUS) @lukemckenzie 10,516

Conrad Stoltz (RSA) @ConradStoltz 10,332
Bevan Docherty (NZL) @bevanjdocherty 10,099
Lukas Verzbicas (USA) @LukasVerzbicas 9,740
Matt Lieto (USA) @mattlieto 9,032
Ivan Rana (ESP) @ivanranafuentes 9,021
Hunter Kemper (USA) @hunterkemper 8,876
Rasmus Henning (DEN) @rasmushenning 8,100
Michael Lovato (USA) @michaellovato 7,367
Will Clarke (GBR) @Theclarke 7,082
Stuart Hayes (GBR) @StuHayes13 6,694

Luke Bell (AUS) @auzzieluke 6,581
Mario Mola (ESP) @mariomola 6,490
Jonas Colting (SWE) @jonascolting 6,248
Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS) @GoSticksy 6,292
Dirk Bockel (LUX) @dirkbockel 6,195
Philip Graves (GBR) @PhilipEGraves 5,865
Courtney Atkinson (AUS) @courtney_akzo 5,861
TJ Tollakson (USA) @tollakson 5,738
Jarrod Shoemaker (USA) @jarrodshoemaker 5,723
Jesse Thomas (USA) @jessemthomas 5,612

Dan Hugo (RSA) @dghugo 5,145
Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) @BinkMarino 4,937
Kris Gemmell (NZL) @KrisGemmell_ 4,496
Sebastian Kienle (GER) @SebastianKienle 4,489
Chris McDonald (AUS) @bigsexymcdonald 4,449
Fraser Cartmell (GBR) @FraserTri 4,407
Joe Gambles (AUS) @joegambles 4,271
Laurent Vidal (FRA) @laurentvidal 4,247
Richie Cunningham (AUS) @SirRichieC 4,133
Gavin Noble (IRL) @gavontwitt 4,053

Clayton Fettell (AUS) @claytonfettell 3,968
Ben Hoffman (USA) @bhoffmanracing 3,929
Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) @fvanlierde 3,582
Tim Don (GBR) @trithedon 3,381
Ronnie Schildknecht (SUI) @ronschildknecht 3,362


Top 55 Pro females on Twitter

Chrissie Wellington (GBR) @chrissiesmiles 56,484
Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) @mirindacarfrae 25,613
Julie Dibens (GBR) @juliedibens 19,967
Leanda Cave (GBR) @leandacave 16,486
Helen Jenkins (GBR) @heljinx 13,669
Paula Findlay (CAN) @PaulaFindlay 12,760
Linsey Corbin (USA) @linseycorbin 12,685
Jodie Swallow (GBR) @jodieswallow 10,647
Lisa Norden (SWE) @lisanorden 10,051
Belinda Granger (AUS) @belinda_granger 8,699
Laura Bennett (USA) @LauraRBennett 7,834

Emma Moffatt (AUS) @_Moffy 7,571
Emma Snowsill (AUS) @emmasnowsill 7,435
Jennifer Fletcher (USA) @JenFletchTri 6,835
Caroline Steffen (SUI) @Caroline_Xena 6,359
Rachel Joyce (GBR) @RJoyce09 6,042
Sarah Haskins (USA) @sarahhaskinstri 5,635
Amanda Lovato (USA) @amandalovato 5,628
Michellie Jones (AUS) @GoMichellie 5,519
Gwen Jorgensen (USA) @gwenjorgensen 5,479
Mary Beth Ellis (USA) @marybethellis 5,325

Hillary Biscay (USA) @hillarybiscay 5,299
Vanessa Raw (GBR) @NessRawArt 5,236
Sarah Groff (USA) @sgroffy 5,120
Rebekah Keat (AUS) @rebekahkeat 4,942
Vicky Holland (GBR) @VixHolland 4,940
Nicola Spirig (SUI) @NicolaSpirig 4,562
Melanie McQuaid @racergirlmel 4,550
Andrea Hewitt (NZL) @andreahewittnz 4,540
Angela Naeth (CAN) @AngelaNaeth 4,436
Heather Jackson (USA) @hjacksonracing 4,368

Tamsin Lewis (GBR) @SportieDoc 4,358
Erin Densham (AUS) @erindensham 4,119
Liz Blatchford (GBR) @Liz_Blatchford 3,889
Meredith Kessler (USA) @mbkessler 3781
Amanda Stevens (USA) @DrAmandaStevens 3,743
Amanda McKenzie (AUS) @amanda_balding 3,698
Lesley Paterson (GBR) @lesleydoestri 3,359
Catriona Morrison (GBR) @cat_morrison 3,310
Kelly Williamson (USA) @khwilliamson 3,133
Sam Warriner (NZL) @samwarriner 3,166

Laurel Wassner (USA) @laurelwassner 3,142
Aileen Reid (IRL) @aileenmorr 3,123
Virginia Berasategui (ESP) @3vir 3,099
Beth Walsh (USA) @IMBethWalsh 3,074
Magali Tisseyre (CAN) @TriMagali 3,048
Annabel Luxford (AUS) @AnnabelLuxford 2,896
Felicity Abram (AUS) @flickabram 2,862
Emma Jackson (AUS) @ejjacko 2,794
Nikki Butterfield (AUS) @NikButterfield 2,718
Rachel Casanta (USA) @RachelCasanta 2,576

Dede Griesbauer (USA) @dedegriesbauer 2,568
Kirsten Sweetland (CAN) @K3Sport 2,519
Gina Crawford (NZL) @Gina_Crawford 2,468
Emma-Kate Lidbury (GBR) @eklidbury 2,328
Ainhoa Murua (ESP) @ainhoamuruitx 2,236


We were not quite sure what to do with the @RaelertBrothers who have 7,948 followers and @TeamWurtele with 2,984 followers, as we tried to list individuals. Should we have overlooked someone though, please forgive us and we will correct/update if needed.

  

Articles related to this one
The Twitter legitimacy check
We published an article about the top 55 Pro triathlete tweeters and there have been concerns about number legitimacy, so we dug deeper into that issue. 4.05.13
More Twitter Legitimacy notes
We shared a Twitter Faker check yesterday that covered the Pro men, and today we look at the Pro women, ourselves and a few other magazines. 4.06.13
Escaping with Jesse Thomas
Jesse Thomas finished 3rd at the 2013 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon and he recently moved to Bend, Oregon with his wife Lauren Fleshman and their Picky Bars brand. Enjoy this video chat. 3.06.13
Chrissie Wellington retires
After taking a year’s sabbatical, four-time Ironman World Champion and holder of all women’s Ironman-distance records Chrissie Wellington announces her retirement at age 35 from professional Ironman racing. 12.03.12
Crowie is still hungry at 39
Craig Alexander comes to the Ironman World Championship atop the Kona Pro Rankings by a runaway margin; with a sub-8 hour win at Melbourne and a second at 70.3 Worlds, he’s aiming at a 4th Kona win at 39. 9.27.12