Skip to Content

Alexander and Carfrae grab St. Croix titles

Written by: Herbert Krabel
Date: Mon May 05 2008

Craig Alexander won the 2008 St. Croix Ironman 70.3 triathlon thanks in part to his fantastic 1:15:58 run time. Just like Alexander, Mirinda Carfrae utilized a superb run to take the women's title and with this victory avenged her loss to Dibens in 2007.

Bryan Rhodes was first out of the water, with Simon Lessing, Frederik Van Lierde, Faris Al-Sultan, Craig Alexander, Paul Ambrose and Richie Cunningham in close pursuit. Once on the bikes, Ambrose kept pushing the pace and eventually would be back in T2 first with a very fast bike time. But it was Marino Vanhoenacker who had the fastest bike split of the day and along the way also set a new St. Croix bike course record.

The run though was all about Alexander. His 1:15:59 run split narrowly missed the record run he had set the previous year, and only Patrick Evoe managed to have a run a time that was somewhat in the same stratosphere. Vanhoenacker though managed to have a decent enough run to finish in the runner-up spot, Cunningham meanwhile narrowly out-sprinted Al-Sultan for third place.

In the women's race it was defending champion Julie Dibens who exited the swim in first place, but she was forced to withdraw early on during the bike. Several other women though were quite eager to take her place and fellow Brit Felicity Hart not only surged ahead, she actually managed to have the fastest bike split of the day. Hart entered T2 2 minutes up on Carfrae, who in turn was followed closely by Nina Kraft and neo-pro Bree Wee.

But no one was going to stand in Carfrae’s way once the run started. She quickly caught Hart and in the end was virtually unchallenged. Second place went to Kraft and Wee rounded out the podium.

St. Croix Ironman 70.3
1.2mi swim/56mi bike/13.1mi run

Top 10 Men

1. Craig Alexander (AUS) 4:05:34
2. Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) 4:08:41
3. Richie Cunningham (AUS) 4:10:02
4. Faris Al-Sultan (GER) 4:10:15
5. Paul Ambrose (AUS) 4:12:02
6. Massimo Cigana (ITA) 4:12:29
7. Michael Lovato (USA) 4:14:15
8. Marcus Ornellas (BRA) 4:16:07
9. Simon Lessing (USA) 4:17:49
10. Patrick Evoe (USA) 4:17:49

Top 10 Women

1. Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) 4:26:56
2. Nina Kraft (GER) 4:36:33
3. Bree Wee (USA) 4:36:45
4. Tyler Stewart (USA) 4:46:31
5. Felicity Hart (GBR) 4:47:13
6. Cynthia Wilson (CAN) 4:47:19
7. Tara Norton (CAN) 4:50:18
8. Amanda Lovato (USA) 4:56:13
9. Stacey Richardson (USA) 5:03:07*
10. Fernanda Keller (BRA) 5:05:39

* Age group athlete


Articles related to this one
Neill and Kloner superb at Gulfcoast Triathlon
Mike Neill won the 2008 edition of the Gulfcoast Triathlon in Panama City Beach, Florida and narrowly defeated Zach Ruble. The women's pro title was snagged by Gabriela Loskatova, but the fastest time of the day belonged to age grouper Amy Kloner from Atlanta, Ga. 5.10.08
Amey and Cave win Florida 70.3
Paul Amey won the 2008 Ford Ironman 70.3 Florida thanks in part to a very impressive bike split and a somewhat expected solid run. The women's event was won by Leanda Cave who had to battle Dede Griesbauer most of the day. 5.18.08
Cigana and Van-Vlerken win 70.3 Austria
Massimo Cigana caught long time race leader Björn Andersson in the last few hundred yards of the 2008 Ironman 70.3 Austria and earned the win with a very impressive run split. Yvonne Van-Vlerken took the title in the women’s race. 5.24.08
McCormack and McGlone rule Hawaii 70.3
Chris McCormack used a super fast bike split to win the 2008 Hawaii 70.3 triathlon. Sam McGlone won the women's event over Tyler Stewart. 5.31.08
Schildknecht and Dibens conquer Switzerland 70.3
Swiss triathlete Ronnie Schildknecht won the 2008 Ironman 70.3 Switzerland after battling Germany's Konstantin Bacher throughout. In the women's race Britain's Julie Dibens had her hands full with Swiss Nicola Spirig but ended up winning it on the run. 6.01.08
Bozzone and Major win 70.3 Boise
Terenzo Bozzone had to reel in Chris Lieto with a fantastic 1:14:18 run split to win the 2008 Ironman 70.3 Boise, after Lieto had posted the fastest bike split of the day. Kate Major looked solid all day as she captured the women's title. 6.01.08
Amey and Zeiger fly at Eagleman 70.3
After taking the crown at Florida 70.3 just a few weeks ago, Paul Amey now also ran away with the title at the 2008 Eagleman Ironman 70.3 triathlon. The women's race was won by Joanna Zeiger who led the event from start to finish. 6.08.08
Cartmell and Comerford rule 70.3 UK
Fraser Cartmell won the 2008 Ironman 70.3 UK and narrowly held off fellow Brit Steven Bayliss. Aussie Luke Bell finished third. In the women's race, Bella Comerford added another win to her resume. Julie Dibens took the runner-up spot and age grouper Sara Sig Moeller snuck into third place. 6.15.08
Craig Alexander, Joanna Zeiger win Muskoka Ironman 70.3
Alexander and Zeiger cruise to dominant victories at Ironman 70.3 debut of the 1992 ITU Olympic distance World Championship venue 9.14.08
O'Donnell and Morrison on top in St. Croix
Timothy O'Donnell beat a stellar field of athletes at the 2009 Ironman 70.3 St. Croix International Triathlon. In the women's race, Catriona Morrison chased down long time leader Mirinda Carfrae late in the race to capture that event. 5.03.09
Craig Alexander talks to Slowtwitch
Australian Craig Alexander had an amazing 2007 season and is now finally able to relax with his wife Neri and daughter Lucy. Craig and Neri were kind enough though to give Slowtwitch a few minutes. 11.13.07
Get to know Mirinda Carfrae
Mirinda Carfrae finished a great 2007 season with the Ironman 70.3 World Championship title in Clearwater, Florida and started her 2008 account with a win at 70.3 in Geelong, Australia. She kindly talked to us. 2.21.08
Potts and Carfrae are the new Ironman 70.3 World Champions
Andy Potts (USA) outsprinted Oscar Galindez in the last few hundred yards to earn his first World Championship title and in the women’s race Mirinda Carfrae (AUS) outran her competition en route to her big win. 11.10.07
Meet Bree Wee
27 year Bree Wee from Kailua-Kona Hawaii was the top age grouper and 13th overall female at the 2007 Ford Ironman World Champions in Hawaii. Slowtwitch had a chance to find out more about this Hawaii resident. 12.06.07