Skip to Content

Potts, Van Vlerken take Cozumel

Written by: Herbert Krabel
Date: Sun Nov 28 2010

Andy Potts grabbed another Ironman title with his course record breaking win time of 8:16:14 at the 2010 Ford Ironman Cozumel. Yvonne Van Vlerken managed to defend her title in a time of 9:07:25.

The men

Andy Potts led the men out of the water with a 45:17 swim. Steven Bayliss was next about 80 seconds later and he was followed closely by Andres Castillo, Balazs Czoke and Axel Zeebroek. Michael Lovato was almost 4 minuted down and Eduardo Sturla and Oscar Galindez had lost almost 6 minutes to the fast swimming American.

Once on the bikes, Galindez and Sturla used the top 2 bike splits of the day to ride to the front of the race and reach T2 in 1st and 2nd position. Lovato, Czoke and Potts though got to the bike-run transition shortly after and the top 5 men in the race started the run about 30 seconds apart.

Potts charged into the lead during the run and Lovato also looked quite well. Galindez dropped off the fast pace set by Potts, quite possibly paying now for the hard effort during the bike segment. Sturla on the other hand did not seem to be bothered along those lines and looked quite fluid and fast. Potts ra the fastest marathon among the men and his 2:52:19 marathon allowed him to cross the line first and gave him the second Ironman title after having won Ironman Coeur D'Alene during the summer. Lovato held on to second place and Sturla crossed the finish line in third place.

The women
Amanda Stevens in her first Ironman used a 46:48 swim to start her day well ahead of the competition. Dede Griesbauer had the second best swim in 49:15 but ended up not having a great day.

Defending champion Yvonne Van Vlerken and Tyler Stewart started the bike well down on Stevens, but clearly were the fastest female cyclists on the course. After 100k they actually managed to pull themselves within 2:38 and 3:40 respectively of Stevens and they were not done yet. Stewart soon passed Van Vlerken, Griesbauer (who was still riding quite well) and eventually Stevens for the lead. By the time Stewart got to the second transition she had about a minute on Van Vlerken, Griesbauer and Stevens who reached T2 within 10 seconds of each other.

Van Vlerken though took charge during the run and her 3:13:39 marathon was sufficient to take the win. Stewart ended up in second place and Stevens took the final podium spot.

"I wanted to win this title again for several different reasons. From an athletic perspective I couldn't be happier with my performance. I was able to control the race and realized how important it is to calmly follow your plan and not react to the attack of competitors," said Van Vlerken.

Ford Ironman Cozumel
Cozumel, Mexico / November 28, 2010

Top 10 men

1. Andy Potts (USA) 8:16:14
2. Michael Lovato (USA) 8:22:17
3. Eduardo Sturla (ARG) 8:24:48
4. Axel Zeebroek (BEL) 8:28:52
5. Andriy Yastrebov (UKR) 8:32:46
6. Patrick Evoe (USA) 8:35:43
7. Petr Vabrousek (CZE) 8:40:09
8. Jozsef Major (HUN) 8:42:45
9. Maximilian Longree (GER) 8:45:52
10. Rutger Beke (BEL) 8:46:28

Top women

1. Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED) 9:07:25
2. Tyler Stewart (USA) 9:23:44
3. Amanda Stevens (USA) 9:26:35
4. Sofie Goos (BEL) 9:45:01
5. Nicole Woysch (GER) 9:50:00
6. Kimberly Schwabenbauer (USA) 10:03:59 *AG W30-34
7. Fiona Whitby (CAN) 10:05:05
8. Charisa Wernick (USA) 10:07:30
9. Maria Omar Soledad (ARG) 10:08:50
10. Carmenza Morales (COL) 10:09:43


Articles related to this one
Kestrel 4000 Ult (2011)
If a Cervelo P3 and a Kestrel Airfoil Pro mated and had a baby, it would be the 4000. It is, stylistically, a fair representation of the heritage of high style that has distinguished the Kestrel brand. 11.30.10
Patrick Evoe - hot and ready
Austin Pro triathlete Patrick Evoe gets interesting words of encouragement when he is racing, and most of them have nothing to do with his name or place of residence. They are usually related to his sponsor Little Caesar's. 12.08.10
Trakking Michael Lovato
Michael Lovato closed out 2010 with a second place at Ironman Cozumel and the Richie Cunningham wedding on New Year's Eve. We had a few words with the late migrating Pro about 2011 expectations and changes. 1.31.11
Potts, Corbin tops at IM CDA
Andy Potts dominates Coeur d'Alene by 13:37 to take his first Ironman victory; Linsey Corbin breaks the course record, run record in her first IM win. 6.27.10
Beke, Van Vlerken take inaugural Cozumel titles
Rutger Beke bounces back from an injury that forced him out of Kona to win Ironman Cozumel in 8:18:40; Yvonne Van Vlerken cruises home 10th overall to take women's title in 9:06:58. 11.29.09