Luke Bell checks in with Slowtwitch

Aussie Luke Bell is an amazingly talented triathlete who has been the runner up at several Ironman races and finished as high as 5th place at the Ironman World Championships in Kona. We had a few words with him.

ST: Luke, how long have you been doing triathlon?

Luke: I have been doing triathlons since I was about 16. I used to play Australian Rules football and Basketball along with many other sports but due to knee problems I had to give them away and fell onto a triathlon. I only raced over summer until I finished college and tried to give it a go more serious when I was about 23.

ST: Are there any other Pros you train with on a regular basis?

Luke: There are not too many guys that I train with. Back home I do a little bit with some Pro cyclists such as Simon Gerrans (former AG2R not CA) and Greg Henderson (T-Mobile) and Katie Mactier (Olympic pursuit silver and Greg’s partner). I also do some stuff with Jason Shortis and Chris Legh but most of it is done with age group friends that I have know for years as they keep you laughing and enjoying the training.

ST: Do you consider yourself disciplined in terms of training and nutrition?

Luke: I am when I have to be, and not when I can relax a little more. There is a time and a place for everything.

ST: How do you typically spend the off-season?

Luke: The off season is mainly done hanging out with friends dinner coffee drinks etc I love to hang out and eat nice foods. Also a lot of time with the family and just hanging out. Going to the beach for surf, just all the stuff you miss out on while you are away.

ST: Do you have any idols in the sport of triathlon?

Luke: I think the main idols I have in the sport are ‘Plucky’ Welch, PNF, Mark Allan and Peter Reid these are the people that have in some way made me the athlete I am.

ST: Do you have a favorite race, and if so, what is it?

Luke: Fav race would have to be Benalla Triathlon. It is an afternoon sprint race 3hrs north of Melbourne where I live between Christmas and new years. A group of us head up to the small country town, handicap the race and the looser buys dinner at the local pub after. It is just a small country race but how I always picture the sport to be, running around with friends and talking it up after wards

ST: How many bikes do you have in your garage and/or around the house?

Luke: Bikes, just 2, my Look 496 TT bike and also a Look 595 ultra road bike. I am not a collector of bikes. I just like my bikes to be nice.

ST: What kind of car do you drive?

Luke: The Hoon mobile is a VW Bora, with roof racks for the bikes and boards along with a good tint. I like the way European cars drive.

ST: Do you follow any other sports?

Luke: I like all sports especially if Australia is into it; we are a very patriotic country. If I had to choose one sport it would have to be Australian Rules football – Geelong and they won this year, first time since I have been alive!

ST: What other sports did you take part in when you were younger?

Luke: When I was younger I did any sport that I could from squash, tennis, surfing, athletics, but mainly Australian football and basketball.

ST: Tell us a bit about your family.

Luke: I have a close family, mother, father and older sister (3 years). Lucy my wife and 2 pug dogs. Then there is the extended family, we will keep it at that or this will go on way to long! All I can say is that it is always fun with the entire family and lots and lots of laughs.

ST: Do you have any favorite food?

Luke: Favorite food, well Coke is high on the list. There is nothing like it and when Huddle and Newby read this I will cope it! It is also hard to go past a good steak and oh I love sushi, may as well put some nice cheese in there as well.

ST: Can you tell us a bit about what you might have in your fridge?

Luke: The fridge at the moment has not much (Lucy is writing the shopping list while I am doing this). There is always cheese, lots of veggies and fruit, yoghurt, juice (all sounds good so far hay) there is also always some wine in there somewhere and some cold beers. Lucy loves to cook so it is always pretty full.

ST: What is the last movie you saw?

Luke: The last movie watched would be Bourne Ultimatum, might just have to watch it again now I think of it.

ST: Can you tell us about your taste in music?

Luke: Music is a bit of anything mainly alternative music most of the time however I like funk, jazz, and even a bit of Frank Sinatra.

ST: Where do you think you’ll be in 5 years?

Luke: 5 year time, I hope to be still racing as I am only currently 28 so that would put me at 33 ah they are the good years in Ironman correct?? There is still plenty of time! 10 years now that is another question.

ST: Is there anything else we should know about you?

Luke: Outside of training and racing, I am the most lazy person. I will ride or dive anywhere as long as I do not have to walk.......... I hate walking