The running shoes of the top 10 women in Kona

Chrissie Wellington and Sandra Wallenhorst ran sub 3 hours at the 2008 Ford Ironman World Championships and finished 1st and 3rd respectively. We looked closer at the shoes which carried them and the other top 10 female finishers through the marathon.

1. Chrissie Wellington (GBR)

marathon time: 2:57:44
running shoes: Brooks T5

2. Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED)

marathon time: 3:04:26
running shoes: Mizuno Elixir 2

3. Sandra Wallenhorst (GER)

marathon time: 2:58:35
running shoes: Saucony Type A2

4. Erika Csomor (HUN)

marathon time: 3:03:05
running shoes: Newton Cure Racer

5. Linsey Corbin (USA)

marathon time: 3:09:15
running shoes: Saucony Fast Twitch

6. Virginia Berasategui (ESP)

marathon time: 3:03:48
running shoes: Asics Gel Banditos

7. Bella Comerford (GBR)

marathon time: 3:08:30
running shoes: Saucony Fast Twitch

8. Gina Ferguson (NZL)

marathon time: 3:11:18
running shoes: Saucony Grid Type A

9. Gina Kehr (USA)

marathon time: 3:14:35
running shoes: Zoot Ultra TT

10. Dede Griesbauer (USA)

marathon time: 3:19:17
running shoes: Saucony Fast Twitch