Skip to Content

Raelert, Beranek take Wiesbaden

Written by: Herbert Krabel
Date: Sun Aug 12 2012

Michael Raelert took the title at the European 70.3 Championships in Wiesbaden, Germany in a course record time of 4:03:58. Anja Beranek grabbed the win in the women's race in 4:36:09.

Ivan Vassiliev led the men's field out of the water in 21:51, but he had Stephane Poulat and Michael Raelert right with him.

The 3 swim leaders rode up front early on during the bike segment, but Bart Aernouts and Boris Stein were steadily gaining on them. Filip Ospaly meanwhile started to fall away after having been reasonably close to the front of the race. Aernouts had the race best split of 2:25:12, followed by Stein who managed a 2:25:17, but about a minute behind the Belgian.

Raelert reached T2 together with Aernouts, Degham and Mikel Elgezabal, but with a swift transition he was first out on the run. He steadily pulled away from his competitors and his race best run split time of 1:11:16 allowed him to cross the finish line in course record time of 4:03:58. Aernouts crossed the line in second place and Boris Stein ran down Degham to take third place.

Jodie Swallow was first out of the water in the women's race and she actually managed to build up a nice advantage during the swim.

During the bike segment Anja Beranek and Virginia Berasategui showed quite some bike prowess and recorded race best splits of 2:42:28 and 2:43:13 respectively. Swallow rode a 2:50:31 and that allowed her to reach the bike-run transition in third place.

Beranek looked solid during the run too, but with a nice advantage (she had swum 90 second faster than Berasategui) did not really have to push herself too much. Best run split belonged to Julia Gajer with a 1:23:20, but she only managed to catch Swallow. Beranek crossed the line in first place almost 3.5 minutes up on Berasategui.

Ironman European 70.3 Championships
Wiesbaden, Germany / August 12, 2012

Top men

1. Michael Raelert (GER) 4:03:58
2. Bart Aernouts (BEL) 4:06:28
3. Boris Stein (GER) 4:07:51
4. Tourny Degham (FRA) 4:08:12
5. Ivan Vassiliev (RUS) 4:08:36
6. Filip Ospaly (CZE) 4:10:19
7. Patrick Lange (GER) 4:12:40
8. Mikel Elgezabal (ESP) 4:14:24
9. Andrew Russell (CAN) 4:14:33
10. Johannes Moldan (GER) 4:16:17

Top women

1. Anja Beranek (GER) 4:36:09
2. Virginia Berasategui (ESP) 4:40:30
3. Julia Gajer (GER) 4:40:39
4. Jodie Swallow (GBR) 4:42:26
5. Lucy Gossage (GBR) 4:44:09


Articles related to this one
Degham, Pelletier take Gerardmer
Toumy Degham of France topped Stanislav Krylov of Russia by 1:30 and Delphine Pelletier of France beat two-time defending champion Caroline Steffen of Switzerland by 3:26 to win Triathlon Gerardmer XL 9.01.12
The Pro triathlete Bart Aernouts
Belgian Uplace Team Pro Bart Aernouts had a solid 2012 season and started his 2013 account with a win at 70.3 South Africa. He is currently getting ready for the Abu Dhabi Triathlon and we had a few words with him. 2.24.13
Raelert, Riveros top Berlin 70.3
Michael Raelert of Germany is back to his 2009-2010 form with a dominating win: Olympian Barbara Riveros-Diaz of Chile had an equally decisive foray at the middle distance at Ironman 70.3 Berlin. 6.16.13
Nicholls, Ryf superb in Wiesbaden
Alpe d'Huez champion Ritchie Nicholls had a superb day in Wiesbaden and closed it out with a 1:08:53 run to take the 70.3 European Champs in front of Jan Frodeno. Daniela Ryf ran down Annabel Luxford to take the women's title in 4:31:34. 8.11.13
Stein, Pedersen win Wiesbaden
Boris Stein of Germany smashed the men's field on the bike and Camilla Pedersen of Denmark ran away from Anja Beranek of Germany to win Ironman 70.3 Wiesbaden. 8.09.15
Böcherer, Thuerig win 70.3 European Champs
Andreas Böcherer overcame rain and a tough bike course to win the 70.3 European Championships in Wiesbaden, Germany. Karin Thuerig also took care of business on the bike and earned the women's title. 8.14.11
Bockel, Sessner take Regensburg
Dirk Bockel from Luxembourg won the 2012 Ironman Regensburg in 8:11:59, after a tough battle with German Michael Raelert. Heidi Sessner of Germany took her first Ironman title in 9:43:52 over a relatively weak female field. 6.17.12