Foster, McGlone take Desert Classic Du

Chris Foster repeated his 2009 title with a 1:56 margin over runner-up Ben Hoffman and Samantha McGlone reprised her 2005 title with a one minute margin of victory over Michellie Jones at the Desert Classic Duathlon in Phoenix, Arizona Sunday.

Foster blasted to a 57-second lead over Matthew Sheeks after the opening 3.5 mile run on smooth trails, then held off a rally by Durango Colorado’s Ben Hoffman to take a 1:56 margin of victory. Foster’s 1:23:57 finish was 12 seconds over the race record set in 2004 by Armand van der Smissen of the Netherlands.
Sheeks took third in 1:26:02

Samantha McGlone, the 2005 Desert Classic winner, started her day with a 20:47 split on the 3.5-mile trail run which put her 42 seconds behind Tucson neighbor and 2002 ITU World Champion Leanda Cave of Great Britain, 35 seconds behind Swiss Xterra star Renata Bucher, 13 seconds behind Michellie Jones, 12 seconds behind Marisa Asplund, and 4 seconds behind Linsey Corbin.

McGlone then took charge with a second-best 55:55 bike that took 49 seconds back from Jones and 51 seconds from Cave and 4:09 from Bucher while Angela Naeth surged with a race-best 55:24 bike.

McGlone then held off Jones by one minute at the line with a 1:36:00 time which was 1 minute 34 seconds off her 2005 race record. Naeth placed third, nine seconds back of Jones. Cave, who crossed the line second, was penalized for not placing her bike helmet correctly in her final transition, took 4th in 1:37:28.

Desert Classic Duathlon
Phoenix, Arizona
February 28, 2010
R 3.5 mi./ b 21 mi./ R 2.7 mi.


Pro Men

1. Chris Foster (Redondo Beach CA) 1:23:57
2. Ben Hoffman (Durango CO) 1:25:53
3. Matthew Sheeks (Woodinville VA) 1:26:02
4. Ryan Guiliano (Schaumburg IL) 1:26:29
5. Chris Ganter (Philadelphia PA) 1:29:49
6. Brendan Halpin (Missoula MT) 1:33:30
7. Stephen Slabodnick (Chandler AZ) 1:37:39
8. Derek Yorek (Alamosa CO) 2:51:00

Pro women

1. Samantha McGlone (CAN - Tucson AZ) 1:36:00
2. Michellie Jones (AUS - Carlsbad CA) 1:37:00
3. Angela Naeth (CAN) 1:37:09
4. Leanda Cave (GBR – Tucson AZ) 1:37:28
5. Lisa Ribes (Tucson AZ) 1:38:42
6. Marisa Asplund (Durango CO) 1:40:05
7. Renata Bucher (SUI) 1:41:25
8. Kathy Rakel (Litchfield Park AZ) 1:41:59
9. Linsey Corbin (Missoula MT) 1:42:57
10. Anne Curi Preisig (Falmouth MA) 1:45:18