Haskins, Dye win NYC Triathlon

Sarah Haskins outran Helle Frederiksen down the stretch and Cameron Dye dominated the non-drafting bike leg to win the pro titles at the New York City Triathlon.


Haskins and Frederiksen, in her first competitive outing since she suffered a knee injury last year, finished the swim 1-2 with 12:39 and 12:40 splits, 10 and 12 seconds up on Erin Jones and Kaitlin Donner.

Haskins and Frederiksen battled even through T1, the bike leg and T2, whereupon Frederiksen’s yearlong competitive absence due to injury proved the difference. Haskins’ women’s-best 36:14 run outpaced Frederiksen’s run by 26 seconds and brought her to the line in 1:57:59 with a 24 seconds margin of victory over Frederiksen and 5:57 over 3rd-place Erin Jones. .


Dye led the current-aided swim in the Hudson River with a 12:02 split that gave him am 11 seconds lead on Tom Eickelberg, 20 seconds on Ben Collins, 38 seconds on Spencer Popeson, 1:07 on Andrew Mueller and 2:09 on Alex Willis.

Dye rode away from the field with a 57:06 bike split that was 3:06 better than the next-best effort of Ben Collins, 4:10 better than Popeson and 50 better than Eickelberg. Starting the run with a 3:12 lead on Collins and 4:53 on Popeson, Dye finished with a 5th-best 35:24 run that brought him to the finish in 1:48:31 with a 2:11 margin of victory over Collins and 3:50 on 3rd-place finisher Popeson.

Panasonic New York City Triathlon
New York, New York
July 24, 2016
S 1.5k / B 40k / R 10k



1. Sarah Haskins (USA) 1:57:59
2. Helle Frederiksen (DEN) 1:58:23
3. Erin Jones (USA) 2:03:56
4. Kaitlin Donner (USA) 2:05:18
5. Laurel Wassner (USA) 2:05:35


1. Cameron Dye (USA) 1:48:31
2. Ben Collins (USA) 1:50:42
3. Spencer Popeson (USA) 1:52:21
4. Tom Eickelberg (USA) 1:53:50
5. Alex Willis (USA) 1:56:20