Oeinck, Chrabot win USAT Elite Nationals

Jasmine Oeinck, a two-time ITU Under 23 World Championship silver medalist in cool conditions, overcame 85-degree water and typical Alabama summer heat to win the USAT Elite National women’s title in 2:02:49 at Tuscaloosa. Oeinck came off the swim and bike five seconds behind fellow Boulder, Colorado resident Jenna Shoemaker, then ran a race-best 35:14 to outpace Shoemaker by 33 seconds and hit the line with a 28 seconds margin of victory. Swim sensation Hayley Peirsol emerged from the Warrior River in 20:06 with 2:21 lead on Shoemaker and a 3:34 margin on Oeinck. Peirsol then gave back her lead to her two chasers on the bike, but finished strong with a 36:48 run to hold off Margaret Shapiro by 48 seconds to take the final spot on the podium.

Matt Chrabot of Virginia Beach, Virginia unleashed a sizzling (on a possibly shorter-than-10k) 29:49 run to overtake runner-up Tim O’Donnell and hold on for a 34-seconds margin of victory in 1:48:14. Heavy favorite and defending champion Matt Reed could only manage a 30:37 run and finished a disappointed third, 28 seconds behind O’Donnell.

2009 USA Triathlon Elite Nationals
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
August 22, 2009
S 1.5k/ B 40k/ R 10k

Unofficial Results


1. Jasmine Oeinck (Boulder CO) 2:02:49
2. Jenna Shoemaker (Boulder CO) 2:03:17
3. Hayley Peirsol (Tustin CA) 2:04:29
4. Margaret Shapiro (Herndon VA) 2:05:17
5. Jennifer Spieldenner (Findlay OH) 2:06:06 *Under 23 winner
6. Jillian Petersen (Colorado Springs CO) 2:07:30
7. Lauren Goldstein-Kral (Shaker Heights OH) 2:08:30
8. Amanda Hahn (Boulder CO) 2:10:50
9. Lindsey Jerdonek (Washington DC) 2:11:40
10. Jessica Broderick (Middlebury CT) 2:13:55

Elite men

1. Matt Chrabot (Virginia Beach VA) 1:48:14
2. Tim O’Donnell (Boulder CO) 1:48:48
3. Matt Reed (Boulder CO) 1:49:26
4. Mark Fretta (Portland OR) 1:50:01
5. Kevin Collington (Orlando FL ) 1:50:32
6. Brian Fleischmann (Colorado Springs CO) 1:51:02
7. Dustin McLarty (Irvine CA) 1:53:00 * Under 23 champion
8. Cameron Dye (Boulder CO) 1:53:45
9. Chris Foster (Redondo Beach CA) 1:55:47
10. Derek Oskutis (Hummelstown PA) 1:56:02
11. Nick Vandam (Colorado Springs CO) 1:56:11