Stimpson tops Mooloolaba WC

Looking sharp in preparation for her chance at the final Olympic slot for the British women in three weeks at the WTS Gold Coast, Stimpson used a race-best 17:17 5k run to pull away to a 17 seconds margin of victory.

Stimpson joined a runaway pack of 10 on the bike, then jetted away on the run.

“It’s great to be back in Mooloolaba,” said Stimpson. “I got second last time I was here to Anne Haug, so it’s nice to get the win.”

Stimpson was happy that her Australian swim was a nice improvement on her effort at Abu Dhabi – a good thing since this sprint distance race didn’t offer as much time to make up ground.

“I swam absolutely shocking in Abu Dhabi,” said Stimpson. “I know my swimming is better in choppy waters. To be honest I was a little bit behind but I managed to catch a brilliant wave coming in and it made me come up a little bit.”

Kristen Kasper of the U.S. started the day making the most of a significant swell, bodysurfing into the beach ahead of Australia’s Emmas Jeffcoat and Moffatt, followed by Spain’s Caroline Routier.

On the bike, Stimpson, Lisa Norden, Sara Vilic, Gillian Backhouse, Taylor Spivey, and Nicole Van der Kaay led a group of 10 that created a gap of 35 seconds on lap 1. Ashleigh Gentle of Australia led the chase but, unlike last week in Abu Dhabi, she could not make a dent. By the time the leaders hit T2, she was 1 minute behind.

Backhouse led at the start of the run, but Stimpson made her move halfway through lap one and was never challenged on her way to a winning 58:31 finish. Moffatt took second and Kristen Kasper of the U.S. took her first World Cup podium in third. Behind them Sara Vilic took 4th, Renee Tomlin of the U.S. matched her 5th place at Abu Dhabi, and Gentle took 6th.

Mooloolaba World Cup
Mooloolaba, Australia
March 12, 2016
S 750m / B 20k / R 5k


Elite Women

1. Jodie Stimpson (GBR) 58:31
2. Emma Moffatt (AUS) 58:48
3. Kristen Kasper (USA) 58:56
4. Sara Vilic (AUT) 59:08
5. Renee Tomlin (USA) 59:24
6. Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) 59:30
7. Miriam Casillas Garcia (ESP) 59:36
8. Zsófia Kovács (HUN) 59:39
9. Ai Ueda (JPN) 59:41
10. Kaidi Kivioja (EST) 59:44