Stoltz and Dibens take 2007 Maui XTERRA Champs

Conrad Stoltz from South Africa has won his third XTERRA world title, besting two former World road triathlon champs Olivier Marceau and Bevan Docherty.

Stolz, himself a former ITU racer, exited the water in tenth but quickly sped to the lead, with Marceau and Docherty part of a tight pack riding up Heartbreak Hill.

Stolz and Marceau separated themselves as the climb progressed, and the two consolidated their lead on the long and technical descent, Stolz entering T2 with the two-time Olympian on his back tire.

Third into transition, two minutes back, was Gunnison, Colorado based Brian Smith, who smoked the bike course, taking back three minutes from Stolz after trailing him by five minutes out of the water.

Stolz cruised home with the day's fourth best run to win in 2:40:54, taking a minute out of Marceau during the day's third leg. Meanwhile, Marceau had to look over his shoulder at the charging Smith who, with the day's third best run split, closed to within :30 of second. Marceau finished in 2:42:05 to Smith's 2:42:35.

Half-Ironman specialist Chris Legh ran down Bevan Docherty for fourth. The Aussie showed his versatility, throwing in the day's fastest run to haul in the Kiwi, who had the day's second best run. Lee came home in 2:44:26 to Docherty's 2:44:54.

Julie Dibens from Bath, England, won her race wire to wire. The former ITU racer was was followed on the bike by XTERRA specialist Melanie McQuaid, with Swiss all-rounder Sybille Matter and 2002 XTERRA world champ Candy Angle in that order.

Dibens did not let up, posting a 1:49:15 bike split that snapped any elastic that might have helped her chasers close the gap. She further distanced herself on the run, finishing in 3:01:24.

McQuaid rode a blistering 1:49:06 bike leg to finish second in 3:09:52. But she paid for her effort on the bike, losing 4:24 on the run to hold off a charging Jamie Whitmore by a minute and forty-five seconds.

Results from the 2007 XTERRA World Championships in Maui, Hawaii

Top 10 pro men

1. Conrad Stoltz (RSA) 2:40:54
2. Olivier Marceau (FRA) 2:42:05
3. Brian Smith (USA) 2:42:35
4. Chris Legh (AUS) 2:44:26
5. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 2:44:54
6. Felix Schumann (GER) 2:45:04
7. Nicolas Lebrun (FRA) 2:45:19
8. Mike Vine (CAN) 2:45:57
9. David Henestrosa (ESP) 2:47:04
10. Nico Pfitzenmaier (GER) 2:47:53

Top 10 pro women

1. Julie Dibens (GBR) 3:01:24
2. Melanie McQuaid (CAN) 3:09:52
3. Jamie Whitmore (USA) 3:11:37
4. Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) 3:12:44
5. Candy Angle (USA) 3:13:14
6. Dara Marks Marino (USA) 3:14:41
7. Sibylle Matter (SWI) 3:15:56
8. Michelle Lombardi (RSA) 3:19:47
9. Daniela Campuzano (MEX) 3:22:02
10. Carina Wasle (AUT) 3:22:33