2016 IRONMAN Kona bike images - women

Daniela Ryf dominated the 2016 IRONMAN World Championships and we now look at her bike and setup and also those of many other female professional triathletes. And there will be actually a second gallery of female pros on their bikes in a couple days.

Daniela Ryf of Switzerland set the pace towards Hawi and then put on the afterburners on the way back. Her 4:52:26 was impressive and clearly race best. She easily defended her 2015 title in course record time.

Canadian Heather Wurtele aboard the new Cervelo P5X rode 5:11:23.

A penalty changed Michelle Vesterby's race plan, but she still rode 5:09:05 and finished 6th overall.

Dane Camilla Pedersen was among the early leaders but ended up with a 5:13:05 bike time.

A 5:06:46 bike effort for Annabel Luxford meant she was in the action, but eventually this Aussie dropped out relatively early during the run.

German Anja Beranek was the only one who could hang with Ryf, but had to settle for a 5:00:42 bike split after being dropped by Ryf on the return from Hawi.

Brit Leanda Cave was in the lead group early on but fell out of contention with a 5:18:34 bike time.

A 5:10:42 bike time was not bad for Aussie Mirinda Carfrae, but Ryf up front was in a different area code. But she still managed to grab the runner-up spot.

American Heather Jackson slowly rolled through the field during the bike segment with a 5:00:31 bike split and a great run to finish 3rd.

Melissa Hauschildt rode 5:05:21, but Aussie did not finish the race.

Brit Susie Cheetham did not finish the bike course on this day.

Aussie Sarah Crowley rode 5:13:54 in Kona.

This was the first big dance in Kona for Daniela Sämmler and this German recorded a 5:16:16 bike time.

Austrian Michaela Herlbauer had a 5:22:22 bike time.

Brit Lucy Gossage rode 5:06:01 and in the end was 9th.

A 5:11:50 bike time for American Linsey Corbin and in the end 13th place.

After a 1:01:52 swim Belgian Alexandra Tondeur had a 5:22:24 bike split.

Swede Asa Lundstrom finished 8th overall with a 5:09:46 bike split.

Without volunteers, non of this racing would be possible.

All images © Herbert Krabel / slowtwitch.com